Downtown Coal

Kansas City has this epic power plant with these two enormous smoke stacks.

Kansas City has this epic power plant down town that has these two monolithic smoke stacks.

I'm not even sure the correct name for it but I knew that I wanted an interesting perspective. So I got this one showing the coal piled waiting for it's transformation into electricity but it looked like a brochure shot.

I’m not even sure what the correct name for it is but I knew that I wanted an interesting perspective. So I got this one showing the coal piled waiting for it’s transformation into electricity but it looked like a brochure shot.

Then I got the obligatory up shot of the conveyor and the stack... pretty standard.

Then I got the obligatory up shot of the conveyor and the stack… pretty standard.

The stacks are cool but it is near impossible to get perspective other than it could be a huge phallic symbol. I noticed the one short stack on the building was rather sad

The stacks are cool but it is near impossible to get perspective other than it could be a huge phallic symbol. I note this because it was evident that the one short stack on the building was rather sad.

There was this cool stuff out of a Doctor Seuss book but I couldn't get any closer to line up a shot, I was getting weird looks.

There was this cool stuff out of a Doctor Seuss book but I couldn’t get any closer to line up a shot, I was getting weird looks.

This window are so awesome. It looks like a scene from the second installment of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory after Charlie has run it into the ground by firing the Umpa Lumpas and replacing them with his family.  But still no perfect shot.

These windows are so awesome. They look like a scene from the second installment of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory after Charlie has run it into the ground by firing the Umpa Lumpas and replacing them with his family. But still no perfect shot.

At the end of the day this was my favorite shot and I got it from the fire escape of where we were staying. Isn't that the way some days? Thanks for looking.

At the end of the day this was my favorite shot and I got it from the fire escape of where we were staying. Isn’t that the way some days?
Thanks for looking.

One thought on “Downtown Coal

Leave a Reply

