Shapes and Shadows Along the Path

When I was probably around twelve I inherited an old 35mm slr. The film was expensive to print and the battery lasted a week. But that didn't stop me from taking random pictures of shadows.

When I was probably around twelve I inherited an old 35mm slr. The film was expensive to print and the battery lasted a week. But that didn’t stop me from taking random pictures of shadows.

Don't forget shapes. We would get a roll developed and my mom would ask, "Are you going to take pictures of anything specific?" I couldn't help it, I love the art of everyday stuff.

Don’t forget shapes. We would get a roll developed and my mom would ask, “Are you going to take pictures of anything specific?” I couldn’t help it, I love the art of everyday stuff.

The beauty beneath our feet. Patterns laid out decades ago calling to be captured. Shadows and shapes probably drove her crazy, much harder to control in that one shot medium. Not to mention the battery that had to be fetched from an hour away.

The beauty beneath our feet. Patterns laid out decades ago calling to be captured. Shadows and shapes probably drove her crazy, much harder to control in that one shot medium. Not to mention the battery that had to be fetched from an hour away.

Now I can click and capture all my treasures... my preciouses. Rechargeable batteries and electronic files free me from my 24 shot restraint.

Now I can click and capture all my treasures… my preciouses. Rechargeable batteries and electronic files free me from my 24 shot restraint.

As the shadows dance and play I click away. Thanks for your patience mom and as you have seen I do now take pictures of specific things, but it's the shadowy, rusty things I love the most.

As the shadows dance and play I click away. Thanks for your patience mom and as you have seen I do now take pictures of specific things, but it’s the shadowy, rusty things I love the most.

Leave a Reply

